I’ve been debating for about a week or so, what to write in tribute to Sepetmeber 11, 2001. That day was traumatic, to say the least and in the wake of traumatic experiences we tend to block things from memory. I’m not a doctor or scientist or anything of the sort but in MY (non) expert opinion, I believe our brains do that to protect us from going thru that pain OVER & OVER & OVER again, reliving the trauma in our minds and the emotional stress of it all chipping away at us, until we’re left mere shells of our former selves.
I didn’t actually realize this until watching TLC this weekend and finding myself emotionally OVERWHELMED within 20 minutes of the show (“Heroes of the 88th floor”). I literally had to take an anxiety pill to help me calm down. I couldn’t watch anymore, I had to let it go.

I said all of that to say this, Do we REALLY need to actually REMEMBER?
YES, we should ALWAYS remember and NEVER forget those who lost their lives and the families and people it affected, but do we have to be reminded of the devastation? The people covered in ash, the screams, the darkness?
Im sorry, I don’t want to remember that… Just like I don’t enjoy watching SLAVE movies, nor would I ever want to watch an actual ASSAULT, or RAPE live and in progress, I don’t want to continuously be reminded of the feeling I had on THIS day 10 years ago!!! Just typing this and recalling in memory the way I felt, makes my stomach weak.
The way I’d like to remember is by remembering the PEOPLE… thats what its about. The people that were lost. Not to be continuously reminded of how we were essentially RAPED and ASSAULTED and left SLAVES of our own fault… enslaved by those WE trained and in the end WE lose!!
I don’t want to remember… Let me forget!!

Go to: http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,62151,00.html for a list of those lost on September 11, 2001.

